I’ve got problems – no need to be embarrassed by it

I have this incredible talent that has managed to stick with me since early childhood. This never failing ability to embarrass myself.

Or maybe it’s not that I embarrass myself so easily – rather it’s that I feel embarrassed so easily. Which in my mind is a problem.

I just seem to get myself into situations where I don’t think things through. Either due to ignorance or plain stupidity. But either way, my ability to embarrass myself is flawless.

It always happens the same.  I become irrational and ignore the giant red flags in front of me. I take a risk. I get caught out. Then bada-bing-bada-boom, Embarrassment City.

They say embarrassment is necessary to be a ‘humble’ person. But I disagree. Completely. I believe you can be humble and not need to feel embarrassed over every slight mistake you make. There’s a difference between feeling embarrassed and identifying when you’ve made a mistake. Feeling embarrassed leads to self hate and isolation. Identifying when you’ve made a mistake is when you can look at something you’ve done, say ‘okay that wasn’t the best decision, but I’m only human’ and move forward.

The fear of embarrassment has always held me back. If I get into a situation where I feel I have embarrassed myself – I will avoid that situation for the rest of my life.

I can’t go around avoiding every single thing that has ever made me feel embarrassed. If that were the case, I’d have to some how derive a method of leaving my own body. It’s not sustainable and it’s not healthy. Embarrassment plays no part in a healthy life.

So next time you might feel embarrassed over something – stop. Don’t feel embarrassed. You are exactly who you are meant to be doing exactly what you are meant to be doing. Embarrassment is for losers.

Be humble, but don’t be shameful.

vbloggie

Leave a Reply

